Skip to content

Heat, glorious heat

July 20, 2006

ckAyr beach

The UK is experiencing a heatwave, and with temperatures reaching 41 degrees in the London Underground a few days ago, there is a real sense that global warming is real. The Scots, of course, think global warming is a great idea, and I sympathise.

The grass is greener in Scotland – but that’s only because it’s always rainy and cold. Apart from the length of the days, Scottish summers are very much like Cape winters – cool and wet.

So what am I doing here? I love the sun, and I love being outdoors. I could quite happily have an endless summer in some seaside paradise. What on earth am I doing in such a wet, miserable place?

Well, Scotland’s great in other ways. It’s famously beautiful and there’s a strangely eerie quality to the light as you go further north. I really like it here – but I do miss the sun.

I decided to make the most of the heatwave, so I checked the weather forecast for the hottest day and took the day off work.

That was yesterday. We spent the day on the beach at Ayr, on the West coast – an hour’s drive from Glasgow. The temperature was 31 degrees there – the hottest recorded in Scotland since 1908. I loved every minute of it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    July 22, 2006 4:27 pm

    Check Talitha in the reflection!

Leave a Reply

