Skip to content

Go Open Source

December 21, 2004

Like most people, I’ve used Microsuck products ever since I started using computers, basically because there wasn’t an option. I’m a driver, not a mechanic, an ordinary user of computers. I can’t program, and the alternatives to MS have always seemed too esoteric.
But I’ve wanted to move to open source software on principle for a long time. Gradually, I’ve been able to do that, firstly with software from http://www.go-opensource.org . But recently I have downloaded the open source browser Firefox and the email program Thunderbird, both from Mozilla . They are free, and way better than Internet Explorer and Outlook. Do yourself a favour – download and start using them today. Firefox blocks ads and popups, and you can download all sorts of cool extensions. Thunderbird is a lot more resistant to spam and viruses than Outlook. And all of it is user friendly enough for a technological illiterate like me to be able to use.
Ditch Bill Gates crappy software and join the commons.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rhys Wynne permalink
    December 22, 2004 12:53 pm

    Hi Walton. I like like your comment “I’m a driver not a mechanic”, that’s exactly how i feel. I’ve known about OPen Source for a while, but never took the plunge as it were, until last night where I attended a local Linux User’s group and was given a free CD. I’ve already installed AbiWord and it’s great. Another advantage Open Source has over Microsoft is that a wide range of applications are available in Welsh and that you can switch languages – this is very improtant for me. The funny thing is that having realised this Microsoft have ‘in association with a Quango called the Welsh Language Board” just released a half hashed up Welsh language pack. Open Source has been available in Welsh for some time thanks to volunteers and screenshots can be viewed at http://www.meddal.com (‘Swyddfa’ is Office and ‘Rhyngrwyd’ is Internet) if your interested.

Leave a Reply

